Alan Glanville Award 2013

Guido Tosello from DTU Mechanical Engineering receives the Alan Glanvill Award 2013

Tuesday 10 Dec 13


Guido Tosello
Associate Professor
DTU Construct
+45 45 25 48 93


Hans Nørgaard Hansen
Head of Department, Professor, PhD, Dr. techn., R.
DTU Construct
+45 45 25 48 16

The award was presented on November 12 to Guido Tosello , Associate Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering of the Technical University of Denmark , principal author of the scientific paper titled "Characterisation and analysis of microchannels and submicrometre surface roughness of injection molded microfluidic systems using optical metrology " published in 2012 in the scientific journal "Plastics , Rubber and Composites: Macromolecular Engineering ".

The Alan Glanvill Award is given as recognition for a research project of particular merit in the field of polymeric materials. The award is given by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, London . The origins of the Institute, which today counts 18000 members, dates back to the Iron and Steel Institute that was founded in 1869 in England.

The Award was delivered by the President of the Institute, Professor Jon Binner from the Loughborough University in the UK.

The prizewinning research work
The scientific publication presents a research on the precision manufacture and characterization of micro- and nano- structures on polymeric components for bio-medical microfluidic applications using interferometric microscopy and optical coordinate metrology.

The research work received funding from two European projects in which DTU Mechanical Engineering has been involved in both the 6th and 7th EU Framework Programmes: COTECH, Converging technologies for micro systems manufacturing, and Network of Excellence 4M, Multi Material Micro Manufacture: Technology and Applications, Part of the work was carried out during Guido’s PhD project which was sponsored by the Department of Mechanical Engineering of DTU. Main supervisor of Guido’s PhD project was Prof. Hans Nørgaard Hansen, who is also co-author of the paper.

 Alan Glanville Award
Guido Tosello receives the Alan Glanvill Award by Professor Jon Binner, President of Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining.

Alan Glanville Award


News and filters

Get updated on news that match your filter.